No announcement yet.

Gutter drain questions

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gutter drain questions

Here in Seattle it actually does rain a lot in the rainy season, and the last few years is actually getting worse in terms of rainfall amount. Many people here are really worried about their finished basements. I have a few questions that I have always guessed on really because when I was an apprentice doing rough ins I never did any gutter drains the GC always did them we ran in the water supply and did the side sewer to the street.

1. I usually know if the gutter line is going to the sewer if it is trapped.

2.Drain fields? What is a good measure assuming the house has 5 gallons a minute at the hose bib to when it will back up?

3. How many years should a person get before they need the drain field and line replaced? How many feet should it run out away from the foundation?

4. Most I see are not connected that are over 40 years old just seperate lines.

5. I can clear roots in these lines till I hit solid dirt but I never know if I am really at dirt or more roots or Mud build up.

6.How do you pull mud out of a line that just ends in gravel.

7. Or any great way to determine if the lines actually go to the Storm Sewer
    Last edited by Cuda; 10-02-2008, 11:36 PM. Reason: 1 more thing
    Seattle Drain Service

Re: Gutter drain questions