X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BROKEN CABLES

HELP! My plumbing technicians are continually breaking cables. What are they doing wrong? How do you suggest extending the life of a cable?

Lori,I have been using drain cleaners for many years and have not broken a cable to date.My secret is not to keep driving the cable when it starts to binde up in the blockage, but to remove the cable and inspect the attachment for evidence of what is causing the blockage.Then if the attachment is not suitable I will fit the straight auger and keep trying untit the blockage lets the water go then I put the cutter through

Comment

I've never broken a cable but maybe you could move up to a larger size.

Comment

I have ery seldom broken a cable unless it was older and stressed. I have had the connecting ends come loose and screw out of the cable. Usually if my cable break they have been stuck tight either in septic tanks of outside of the sewer pipe.

Comment

I started plumbing 15 years ago with my grandfather and I swear he has the first machine built. I have found over the years to keep the cable out of a bind when possible. Usually if you back out a little and then advance you can go on. Anyway when I was younger I was impatient, only when my grandfather made me pay to replace the broken cable was when I became more careful. I would let your guys know how much it is costing you.

Comment

If you are using the cables on a large drain you could go to a water jet system which i think is much more effecient than augering. It doesn't just open it up but it rinses out all the sludge also.

Comment

Lori, I agree with superflush,like a lot of things, "slow and steady" is usually much better than "wham bam". Right?

Comment