X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Non-Plumber Needs Help with Electric Snake

This is my first time posting here so I apologize in advance for my untechnical nature and language.

Long story short, I own 2 houses that consistently have the sewer lines back up due to roots every 18 months or so. I got tired of paying Roto Rooter $400 dollars each time to clear the sewer line, so what I did yesterday was go out to Home Depot and picked up a rigid k400 electric snake. So last night I pop open my sewer trap located in the garage and attempt to start using the thing, 3 hours later (after I read the instructions and watched the DVD) I unclogged my sewer line and pulled out a ton of roots.After doing some research today online, I realized that I was very lucky not to get my snake coiled up or trapped in the sewer line.

So my question is, how far is too far with an electric snake? Last night when I was retracting the line it got stuck and I really had to use some elbow grease to get it loose, does this mean that my snake was coiled up in the city sewer system? How do you know that the snake head has hit the city sewer? Also do I have the right machine to clear out roots, I only now realized that there are various types of electric snakes out there? I got tired last night and gave up after the line was unclogged but I know that there are roots still left in there so I want to make sure that when I go back to really clear the lines this weekend I am somewhat capable of doing it. Thanks in advance.

Re: Non-Plumber Needs Help with Electric Snake

Sounds like a Job for a proffesional !

Comment

i'm not familiar with a K-400. if you meant the K-40, well that's a sink machine and not for roots at all. what size cable are you using and how much did you have out? sometimes it takes a lot of elbow grease to retrieve a cable full of roots.

steve