X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cable End Repair

I have 1/2" HC cable and a 5/16" IC cable that I need to put new ends on.

I'm wondering who has done this before, what they used--screw inside or screw on outside, and what brand repair ends they used. And where's the best place to get them.

Lastly, did you also tack them on with a welder? I've heard of this being done, but I would think it would mess up the spring steel of the cable.

Thank you.

John

Re: Cable End Repair

I have welded with lasting sucess . Fast Mig 2 tacks. Trick is enough heat for proper fusion , and fast. I am a welder
    I can build anything You want , if you draw a picture of it , on the back of a big enough check .

Comment

What kind of cable is it. There a ends for most but if you want to use your heads you must get the correct repair end. Some go on with no welds others must be welded marvin

Comment

We have a welder do it for us all the time the cable will break before the weld does, depending on the weld...

Comment

I don't know the brand of the 1/2" cable. It's from an old machine I bought used. Could be an old Electric Eeli.
          I went in the shop today to remove the old drop head. I think it was soldered on, could have been lead or ???? but I was able to use my Mapp torch to get it off. It did not screw on either. Anyone seen this before?

My 5/16" is a Spartan

My only concern with the welding was taking the strength out of the end of the cable that gets hot. But I can see tacking it with a Mig quick should be okay.

Thank you.

Comment

Originally posted by MEP View Post
            We have a welder do it for us all the time the cable will break before the weld does, depending on the weld...

...........scratching my head having a hard time understanding that one..................

lol !!!

Comment