X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• drain machine for beginners

Hello, I'm new at this so please be gentle, I'm a master plumber and have done new construction for twelve years. I have very little drain cleaning experience. The advice I recieved on my first post was very helpful but now I need more advice. Looking at the Ridgid website I see the K380 and K3800 are similar except for price, also the K750 and K7500. Any suggestions for the best choice to begin my new adventure ?

GREEN FROG, YOUR IN LUCK. I OWN BOTH THE 750 AND 7500. INFACT I HAVE A NEW 750 AND 7500 THAT I CAN SELL IF INTRESTED. BOTH MACHINES RUN THE SAME CABLE AND CUTTERS. THE 750 WILL RUN 125' OF 5/8'' OR 100' OF 3/4''. 3/4'' MY CHOICE ESPECIALLY FOR ROOTS. DON'T ATTEMPT TRAPS. THE 7500 WILL DO 150' OF 5/8'' OR 125' OF 3/4''. THE 7500 AS YOU CAN SEE IS QUITE A BIT MORE MONEY, FOR A REASON. THE UNIVERSAL MOTOR IS GEAR REDUCED 4/10 HP@ 200 RPM. IT WILL SLOW DOWN AND TORQUE UP GIVING YOU MORE TIME TO REACT TO THIS SUDDEN POWER AND TENSION ON THE CABLE.IT ALSO HAS AN INNER DRUM TO HELP WITH CABLE FLIP OVER. THE AUTO FEED IS MUCH BEEFIER AND A WHOLE LOT BETTER DESIGN. THE FRAME IS A WHOLE LOT STRONGER AND MORE STABLE. IT INCORPORATES A REAL SET OF STAIR CLIMBERS. THE 750 USES PLASTIC SKIDS TO PROTECT THE STAIRS. LOTS OF FRICTION AND BETTER CHANCES YOU'LL CHIP BRICK STEPS.
    AS FAR AS THE 3800 , IT IS VERY SIMILIAR IN MOTOR FEATURES AS MENTIONED ABOVE. 1/12 HP 240 RPM. THE 3800 HAS A SWIVEL DRUM. YOU CAN ADD AN AUTO FEEDER TOO. DRUM CAPICTY FOR THE 380 IS 100' OF 3/8'' OR 75' OF 1/2''.3800 IS 100' OF 3/8'' OR 90' OF 1/2''.