X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jetting question

I don't know how to start a poll on here, so I'll just ask...

Those that do jetting, are you self taught, or did you learn being an employee somewhere else, or some other answer?

I'm just curious how my peers got started in jetting.

Re: Jetting question

I learned the way most people do it, on the job training. I jetted alot for a Sewer and Drain Cleaning company I used to work for. I was taught some things, the other I learned and figured out on my own.
    Will Rogers Plumbing
    Moore, Oklahoma
    (
    405) 323-2852

"Your Solution for Any Sewer and Drain Cleaning Needs"

"We Unclog Drains That Others Can't"

www.willrogersplumbing.com
    http://willrogersplumbing.com/?page_id=8

"Oklahoma's Favorite Plumbers!"

Comment

self taught. built my first jetter close to 20 years ago from a 2hp electric pressure washer i still have and use. then moved up to a 5.5 hp gas unit. then 11 hp, 18hp 24 hp and now 50 hp. with several versions in between. lots of reading and trade shows.

i did take a us jetting class last year to learn a little about the maintenance and marketing. plus the donuts weren't bad

nozzle choice and hose choice are the single most important items to get right. especially with smaller capacity jetters.

a word of advice. don't smile while jetting overhead drains while in the line of fire. unless you want to loose 20#

rick.
      phoebe it is

Comment

I understand Plumbing design extremely well, and I'm pretty good with designing Residential Plumbing systems.

But I'm gun shy on the whole jetter thing for some reason. I'm not the type to get a new tool that I've never used, and wake up the next day calling myself a Professional and hiring out for it. I think when I get settled into my house, I'm going to get a jetter and practice on my house (PVC sewer), and also my dad's sewer (C.I.)