X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jetter Question

I've got the JNW Big Brute. 4000 psi 9 gpm with 100 gallon water tank. I'm relatively new to jetting so i don't know all the tricks. I have a 300' / 3/8" hose on the jetter and a 200' 3/8" hose on the remote reel with a shut off valve on it. Majority of the time I'll use the remote reel. My question is, if I have the psi and pressure cranked all the way up and turn the shut off valve off on the remote reel while I run back to the jetter to turn the pressure down or to check the line with the camera, will that cause any damage? I haven't done this yet as Im afraid it might damage the pump. I always leave the jetter on the truck which can be a couple hundred feet away sometimes.
    Would a foot pedal be a better option for those situations or does it work in the same sense as the shutoff valve?

Re: Jetter Question

won't damage anything because your unloader opens up and cycles the water back into the tank. Congrats on the purchase.
    Buy cheap, buy twice.

Comment

Bens 100% right. The 100 gallon tank allows for cooling of the water being circulated. If this were a cart jetter without a holding tank, then after a couple minutes the water will get too hot and damage the pump packings.

Much safer with a foot pedal or spray wand then a ball valve. Something happens and you pull the hose out too far, you'd wish you had a spring loaded foot valve.

Another thing is 500' of 3/8" hose is a lot of pressure drop at 9gpm. I park on the street and rarely need more than 300' from a rear yard.

I'd buy a 100' hose to give you some options.

Rick.
      phoebe it is

Comment

Thanks gear.
        Rick, do you mean 100' to go from the jetter to the remote cart? Then have 200' on the reel?
        I ordered a foot pedal earlier today. Ill try that in place of the remote valve.

Comment