retrieving old sewer cable from line

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• retrieving old sewer cable from line

I got a call about removing an old sewer cable from a floor drain/sanitary line. the old cable is believed to be either 7/8 or 1.25 and is about 35' from the drain. it enters a Y and goes downward. another company cameraed the line but wants nothing to do with trying to remove it. it possibly is one of theirs, especially if it's 1.25.

I've never tried to retrieve a lost cable. so i'm assuming i'll use the funnel auger and try to just grab the old cable, with out getting everything bound up, down the line. push my cable/auger into the line, until just before the old cable. use the camera to see what i'm doing, advance to the old cable, rotate my cable by hand, hopefully grab and retrieve the old cable. be the hero, get paid millions of dollars, and have songs of praise offered up in my name.

any ideas or tricks would be helpful as i'm a total newb at this facet of drain clearing.

BTW, Rick before you offer, you would need to be here by 3:00 P.M. (1500 hours) AST.

I love a challenge but would like a leg up in doing this one right.
    In the never ending struggle to keep the water flowing.... The Poo Poo Cowboy rides again!!!

Re: retrieving old sewer cable from line

Originally posted by stxrus View Post
    another company cameraed the line but wants nothing to do with trying to remove it. it possibly is one of theirs, especially if it's 1.25.
    or because it's stuck on/in/out of the pipe and cannot be retrieved by catch and pull alone. i'd verify this important fact first. find out what's on both ends. cables dont break for no reason.
    ~~

... it was plumbed by Ray Charles and his helper Stevie Wonder

Comment

good point. that's something i'll try to check out.

besides that, is my methodology sound? or should I rethink my approach? this will be my first recovery.