I didn't sign a waiver!!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I didn't sign a waiver!!

[SIZE="2"]So I've posted in the past about these 3 old condo buildings on the beach that I've been working for about 5 years now(since I started my business). They are the same and were finished around 1970. I've done many repairs, replacements, remodels, and normal fixes that come with time, but they have really had two big problems with plumbing. The first and worst is the 40+ cast iron is cracking and leaking all over the place. Very simple plumbing, small units. 4" main goes up 6 stories. At each unit, 4 X 3 wye picks up two bathrooms, goes through the floor, 3 x 2 reducer, picks up both lavs, back to stack to vent. The kitchens have dedicated stacks; they have needed repair, but not nearly as bad as the 4" mains and for some reason, the shower drains go.. Have yet to replace a tub drain. The second major problem is the kitchen lines are packed with grease. They go up 3", 3 x 2 wye picks up two units by means of a san T with inlets at 90 to each other. Many times, I wind up billing the unit owners for opening the lines, but the mains are so packed with grease and scale, you're just making a temporary hole until a tenant decided to use a disposer as a trash can, then it's plugged again. I've done jetting jobs on the kitchens stacks very successfully. Access is a pain. I have to crawl under the building, unband the cast at the bottom, then send the jetter straight up and "make it rain". I learned to use Tyvek suits after the first time. You guys can guess what kind of solid, black, chunky, rusty, fill in the blank comes out of those pipes!! I let it rip right into the sand as putting that into their old main(whose supports rusted and dropped the pipe into the sand) would only cause a different problem. Magically, once this is done, the drain calls for the cleaned stack seem to disappear.. AND, mind you, that's knowing that I can not steer the jetter nozzle into