• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• K-60 with chain knockers

Want to try and descale 4? cast iron with the k-60 and chain knockers
    my concern is 600RPM won?t be enough with the K-60
    flexshaft seems to spin faster ?

You are correct. Descaling takes speed.

Chain knocker would break up a hard deposits of possibly tile grout. But it's not fast enough for true descaling.

Rick.
    phoebe it is

Comment

• SewerRatz
      SewerRatz commented
      Editing a comment
      I have been descaling 4" cast iron for 30+ years using Ridgid machines and the old school chain knocker which Rothenberger still makes. Every line I have done looked like new.

One job that impressed lots of officials and my father was where the city televises home owners lines at no charge. This home had 80 feet of 4" cast iron ran from the house to the parkway that they tried to hydrojet with a 4000PSI US Jetter. The city ran their camera down the line and it looked real bad the scale choked the pipe down to 3" in spots. The city officials was telling the home owner that he needed to replace all the cast iron. Which was why I was called to give an estimate to replace the line. After looking at the video, I explained I could descale the line and make it look as good as new. Everyone was very doubtful, so I said let me run my chain knocker through the line, and we will let the city televise the line. If no one there is satisfied with the results they only have to pay me my trip charge, but if they are satisfied then pay the total invoice.