Shop light questions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shop light questions

As stated in a previous thread, I'm in the planning phase of bulding a workbench for my garage. This workbench will require four shop lights wired together. The light will be only a few inches apart and separated by a plywood partition.

1. Basically, how do i connect the lights with conduit? I've never worked with conduit before. Do the ends of the conduit that will be going to the lights need to be threaded or are there clamps that will hold the conduit in place? If the conduit needs to be threaded, can I cut it and take it somewhere to be threaded?

2. Do I wire them in parallel or series?

3. What should I look for in a fluorescent shop light? My garage is cold in the winter and hot in the summer.

Thanks,
    Andy

Andy, please don't take this wrong but based on some of your questions I would suggest you solicit the help of a friend with an electrical background or hire an electrician.

I think that most of the electrical types here will be hesitant to give you advice because they will be concerned that you will get hurt or hurt someone else. I am only basing this on your questions. I have no way of knowing your actual skill level but I do know to my way of thinking you are not up to this task if you need to ask if you should wire the lights in series or parallel. I can understand having questions about using conduit; what type and what fittings to use, etc.

Also, you'll want a fixture rated for cold starting, down to Zero Deg. F if possible given you are in an area known for extended cold during the winter months.

And whether you do it or have someone else do it, put your lighting on a circuit separate from any other equipment so that if a power tool trips a breaker you don't end up in the dark. Much safer that way.