X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie Needs Advice Please

Hi! I am new to the Ridgid forum and find it extremely informative!

My question: How do I find out what a switch controls (simplest way please)?

I have several wall switches in the 19 year old home I just bought that don't seem to work anything! I want to use one of them (potentially) to hook in to some recessed lights I am going to put in the family room ceiling.

Thanks for your help.

Bob

Re: Newbie Needs Advice Please

I suppose there's likely a way to trace the wires in the walls... but I'd just take a lamp and start plugging it in places to see if the switch turns it on.

Welcome to the forums. I generally provide the least valuable answers around here so for your sake, hopefully there's an electrician in the house to chime in.

Comment

Bob

Are the switches in a hallway or are they in a room on one of the walls? If in a hallway they may be for light fixtures on the floor above or below. WW has a good idea of trying a test lamp in every receptacle in the same room with the switch in question. Trying to trace wires gets pretty wild if you don't have special tools-equipment. Also, be sure to check for any blown or removed fuses or tripped circuit breakers.

Comment

You might need to try both outlets of a duplex receptacle because sometimes they are 'split' and one outlet will be powered all the time and the other will be switched.
        ---------------
        Light is faster than sound. That's why some people seem really bright until you hear them speak.
        ---------------
        “If I had my life to live over again, I'd be a plumber.” - Albert Einstein
        ---------
        "Its a table saw.... Do you know where your fingers are?"
        ---------
        sigpic http://www.helmetstohardhats.com/

Comment