X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Capacitor on 1 1/2 hp motor of table saw

I have a very good 10 year old cast iron table saw. A few months ago I started having a problem with the motor. When I try to start it in my cold garage in the morning, it immediately trips the breaker and continues to do so until the air in the garage warms up significantly. I have replaced the switch, the power cord, the heavy duty extension cord, had the bearings packed, etc. Still does the same thing. I have discovered through trial and error that if I use a hair dryer blower on the motor to warm it up in the morning it works fine. I was wondering if it was possibly the capacitor that is causing the problem. You can probably tell that I am not an electrician, I'm a woodworker. The specs. on the motor are as follows: Brand-Rexon; Mod.-RM-323; Volt. 115/230; Amp.-12/6A; RPM-3450; Class A; 60 hz. The specs on the capacitor are: Motor Starting Capacitor; Cap 400 MFD; WV 125 VAC; Type 129. Would appreciate any help that you can provide me. Thanks in advance.

arthurgimplowitz1@msn.com

Re: Capacitor on 1 1/2 hp motor of table saw

It could be the capacitor and they aren't that much $ so it might be wise to just replace it. About how cold is your shop in the morning? I have in mind that the grease in the bearings my be so think that the motor just can't start and come up to speed in a reasonable time. With the power plug pulled, how much effort does it take to rotate the motor or blade some by hand? Try it cold and then also warmed up some. If your shop is below 35 or 40 F in the morning, I think you would do well to put some heat in it so that's it's not really cold when you want to work that day.

If you want to replace the capacitor, I can help you find one. I will need the diameter and length of it. Does it have two standard quick (slide on) connectors?