X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What Is The Answer?

Below I have a link to a diagram with a question about it. Lets see how may of you can get the right answer. You can enlarge the diagram by clicking enlarge. Please post your answer here at the forum. Good luck.

electric.jpg - Image - Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

electricLou

Re: What Is The Answer?

I'm not an electrician but I'm guessing (b), lights go dim, but not out.
    Great Link for a Construction Owner/Tradesmen, and just say Garager sent you....

http://www.contractorspub.com

A good climbing rope will last you 3 to 5 years, a bad climbing rope will last you a life time !!!

Comment

A) Strange panel. Two phase? I think you really mean leg A and leg B in a single phase panel.

B) Cut the neutral as shown and the circuits become 220V with a resistor (the bulbs). The bulbs will get brighter until they burn out. The correct answer is a.

Comment

E, none of the above.
        You will see no difference in the brightness of the bulbs. In fact you could put a switch at X and you would not be able to tell when it was open or closed. This only works because the resistance of the bulbs is identical so the voltage drop across them will be 120V each.

Comment

I'm with wbrooks

because bulbs are same resistance and voltage is doubled there is no difference...

Comment

Problem

Is this a 3 phase system but only using 2 phases, or is it a single phase system with A = L1 and B = L2 ?

I want to see more to this diagram. What exactly is the power source?

Comment

I'm going to say: b) the lights will dim

The diagram is definitely strange, but if you cut the neutral at that spot, it now places the light bulbs in series with each other. It doesn't make a difference what their wattage is. In series, you would add the resistance of both bulbs to the circuit and the drop in amperage will effect the voltage and the brightness of the bulbs.

CWS

Comment