X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any microwave experts here?

Thought I"d toss this in in case anyone has any microwave experience. I have an older gas range/oven/microwave combo from the late '70s from Mont. Wards. Lately, the mw makes a poping sound when running. Reminds me of far away fireworks or machine gun fire in the distance. It's not the cooling fan, it runs fine. Sometimes it does it, sometimes not. Any ideas?

I cleaned off the model number and found this inside. KTM 3389-87/79X03170-29254895 C
    Did some Google searching but came up empty.
    Thanks.

Mark
    Last edited by The Wood Meister; 03-25-2007, 11:03 AM.
    Congratulations to Mr. "the sky is falling" Al Gore, nominated the new Village Idiot!

Re: Any microwave experts here?

Mark,

I'm no expert! But from my experience with a couple of microwaves over the years, the popping could be a couple of things.

First, can you rule out that the popping is simply expansion or contration as the object being microwaved it being heated? This can be an often occurance and sometimes I'll hear a "pop" that will actually jar the microwave's rotating glass plate. Considering that you are only recently noticing problem, I doubt it's the problem, but I thought I should mention it.

Second, if you look into the vented areas with a flash light, how dusty does everything appear. At more than 30 years old, even the cleanest evironment will have a build-up that may be shorting.

Similarly, seals could be deteriorated and possibly leaking, allowing dangerous microwaves to be toasting other components and eventually the operator! Microwaves cook by emitting RF energy at ultra high frequency. In good working order, the appliance is design to contain these microwaves within the oven area. Should things deteriorate, the microwave's ability to do that may be questionably dangerous.