X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Adding a 220 volt outlet in garage

I have done some simple homeowner type of 110 volt wiring, but I've never worked with 220 before. Here's the situation: I recently bought a portable 220 volt compressor that is rated at 15 amps. I do not have a 220 volt outlet in my garage. Behind the garage wall drywall, on the outside of my house, is my breaker box panel. I was thinking it should be fairly simple to add a 220 volt outlet right underneath the breaker box panel inside the garage. Before I attempt this myself, I thought I would run my plan by the forum users who have much more experience in this type of job. Looking at how our other 220 volt 20 amp outlets are wired, here's my plan:
    * Turn off the main power.
    * CAREFULLY cut a hole in the dry wall about one foot under the breaker box panel for the 220 volt outlet box.
    * Fish some 12/3 wire up inside the breaker box.
    * Mount a double pole 20 amp breaker (two 20 amp breakers in tandem) in the two available adjacent slots under the 30 amp double breakers.
    * Attach the red wire to one of the breakers, the black wire to the other, the bare ground wire to where the other ground wires are attached, and the white wire to the bar with all the other white wires.
    * Back in the garage, mount the outlet box, attach the 12/3 wire to the 220 female outlet, mount the outlet, turn the power back on and test with a multimeter.
    Questions:
    * My other 220 volt outlets have 12/3 wire with the white wire attached inside the breaker box and then capped off inside the outlet. In other words, the white wire dead-ends. Only the red, black and ground wires are hooked up. Is this customary?
    * I know the bare ground wire gets attached to the green screw on the outlet. Does it matter which side the red and black wires are attached?
    * Is there anything I've missed?
    Attached Files