X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3 phase lathe question

A friend of mine just bought a new monster powermatic wood lathe (lucky dog!!). I was reading up on it last night and it says it comes with a 3 phase, 2hp motor with a built in phase converter for 220. (probably why it costs almost 3 grand!)
    Does anyone have any idea why they built it like this? It makes no sense to me, but then again, i'm not an electrician either! LOL 2hp 220 motors are a dime a dozen!

Here is a quote from the following article.
    "If you don’t understand the 1-phase/3-phase stuff, suffice it to say that the included inverter makes hooking the Powermatic 3520B Lathe up in your shop simple. It’s also thousands cheaper (literally) than paying the local power company to string a 3-phase line through the neighborhood to your house, if they will do it at all.

Seems to me it would be atleast a grand cheaper if it came with a regular 'ol 220 motor and not the 3 phase one! They must have had a real stock pile of the 'spensive ones and needed a place to dump them! (or I could be way wrong!)

Here are the specs on the lathe.

Mark
    Last edited by The Wood Meister; 07-09-2007, 04:42 PM.
    Congratulations to Mr. "the sky is falling" Al Gore, nominated the new Village Idiot!

Re: 3 phase lathe question

Makes no sense to include a phase converter for a 2 hp motor, like you say dime a dozen, even a Baldor would only run about $0.25 (on the given scale)
    You can easily go up to about 5 HP without the need for 3 PH

Comment

The 3-phase motor is a better motor than the single phase, particularly more starting torque and only a couple parts. I imagine the speed is precisely controlled with a VFD(variable frequency drive). Speed control is difficult with a single phase motor.

Comment