Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 15 Amp CB Question

Hello,
    I'm a woodworker and my garage is my shop. All outlets in my garage are GFI protected (new house, not even 2 year old). Whenever I turn my bandsaw on (11 amps), I'm tripping the 15-amp circuitbreaker designated to my garage. My question is, can I replace this 15 amp circuit breaker with a 20 amp one to prevent the tripping? All my woodworking tools are wired 110V and only the bandsaw exhibit this circuit breaker tripping incident. Thanks. Godspeed.

Re: 15 Amp CB Question

You would need to be sure the wiring going to that circuit is #12 or #10 and not #14 as #15 is rated at 15 Amps maximum. If you do have #12 all the way on that circuit then you could change to a 20 Amp breaker. Try shutting off that breaker and find out just what is on the circuit. If there are lights besides the receptacles you really need to think about having a good electrician run a heavy line to the garage and installing a small sub-panel (little breaker box) inside the garage. Then be sure all lighting is on a circuit without receptacles on it. It would be wise to have a few circuits with just one receptacle so you can run machinery without tripping breakers.

For now try to have everything on that circuit off and then see if you can start and run your bandsaw.

Comment

As mentioned, you will need to verify the wiring is at least 12 awg. I would suspect if they went with a 15A breaker is because the wiring is 14awg, in which case you should NOT change the breaker to 20A. Verify if you have anything else on that circuit. Perhaps turning off or disconnecting anything else that is running on it while you use the saw is all you need to do.

Comment

Originally posted by John Revilla View Post
        Hello,