No announcement yet.

3-way switch off and still some power?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3-way switch off and still some power?

I was relocating ceiling light fixture box (hallway) and found something very odd (though I'm not a pro). The fixture box runs off of two 3-way switches on either end of a stairwell. I tested the power to the fixture box with the breaker on and both switches off, and there seems to be a very, very slight charge at the fixture box, even though the switch is turned off. It barely (and dimly) flickered my circuit tester. But what I dont understand is why, with the switch turned off, there is any power (however little) at all to the fixture (or is this normal for 3-way switch configuration)? With the switch turned on, the line tests correctly.

I replaced both wall switches after I noticed the issue (which probably doesnt matter), but it seems that there is still some power at the fixture with them turned off. It probably wont affect the operation of a light fixture, but my head hurts from scratching it and Im tired of running down the basement to turn on and off the breaker. I would appreciate any insight.

Re: 3-way switch off and still some power?

With the switch off there should be no voltage present. Is the voltage on the hot wire or the neutral? Does your 'tester' show similar problems at other fixtures. Is your tester broke? - Check friends house.
    Get a voltmeter and check for voltage
    My favorite would be have an electrician check your panel

Comment

Out of curiosity... what sort of switches are you using? Just plain jane switches, or something fancy like motion sensors or something?

Comment

Bobby,