Height of NM Cable In Walls??

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Height of NM Cable In Walls??

Is there an actual height that you must run cable in a wall? My newest B&D DIY book says I might fail inspection unless I stick with 20" above floor. I sure hope not! Makes no sense to me. PITA for insulation for one thing. i've always drilled holes about 3" & 5" above plate and put receptacle boxes at about 14" high. But those weren't inspected situations.

ALSO - why is the number of NM cable per hole such a vague, controversial subject. Can't they clean it up? Inside walls, Insulated walls. TJI's have huge 1-1/2" holes vs solid lumber. Derating of cables - what a bunch of crap. Based on that every house I've ever touched is on the verge of burning to ground & I really don't beleive that will happen.

Re: Height of NM Cable In Walls??

First, I am not an electrical engineer, but have wired quite a few homes in the past.

I do not know of a specific NEC Code that addresses this. However, the wire must be secured within 12" of a box.

What I have always done is used my hammer as a "quick" height guide for my boxes and just held my right angle drill at arms length around my waistline and begin drilling studs.

Beware that there may local codes above and beyone the NEC in your jurisdiction.

Regards,

Comment

I'm not sure on all the code on this one.

In practice you generally need to stay over 20 inches to make things work. It is a bad idea to run on the bottom 6 inches because you risk getting your wires hit by drywall screws and nails from the baseboard. Your outlets are set at 16 or 18 on center. So you want to the wire to be at least six inches above or below a box so it can make a smooth bend into the box and have a staple securing it within 8 inches of the box. So if you go below 20 inches you have a lot less room to do what you need.