X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need clarification

I am running a circuit in my garage that will be overhead and used for 3 outlets for lighting. Since these are not reachable without a ladder, do I need to run the wiring through conduit?

Thanks

Re: Need clarification

Originally posted by osgoor View Post
    I am running a circuit in my garage that will be overhead and used for 3 outlets for lighting. Since these are not reachable without a ladder, do I need to run the wiring through conduit?

Thanks
    I'm not an electrician, so you should wait for one of them to answer. My understanding is that it will depend on the type of wire that you've run. For example, if you've run individual conductors I the answer is yes it needs to be in conduit. If you've run Romex it doesn't need to be in a conduit, but you can just staple it underneath joists, you need to drill them.

Comment

there is nothing wrong with running romex to do this but you may want to check the code in your state

you can run under ground wire it is a little tougher and if you hit it with some thing it will hold up better
      Charlie

My seek the peek fundraiser page
      http://observatory.mountwashington.o...nal&fr_id=1040

http://www.mountwashington.org/weather/conditions.php

new work pictures 12/09
      http://public.fotki.com/hvachawk/

Comment