X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sub Panel Question

First off I am a carpenter! But I do my own work at home with the proper info and guidance of those who are experts.
    I have a 200 AMP main panel in the house. I am out of space for breakers even with minis. I want to change out my LP gas water heater to electric and have the option of the same change out with the clothes dryer. LP is getting way too pricey.
    So hear is my idea. I mount a sub panel next to the main panel. I install a 60 amp breaker in the main to feed the sub. I move the circuits that the 50 takes the place of into the sub and then fedd my new applainces.
    Am I on the right track?

Re: Sub Panel Question

That's the basic idea. Make sure to distribute the circuits so the subpanel is not overloaded and don't bond the neutral to the ground in the subpanel.

Comment

Yes,
      You are on the right track. This should work well for what you want to do. Use a four wire feed (a black, a red, a white and either a green or bare ground) to supply power to the feeder panel. The grounds all go to the ground bar in the feeder. The neutral all go to the neutral bar in the feeder. The ground bar and the neutral bar in the feeder are generally NOT bonded to each other. They are separated. And it is imperative that you follow the requirement that all neutrals go on one bar and all grounds on the other because of this. Remember that that neutral white wire IS a CURRENT CARRYING CONDUCTOR. It does not take the place of the ground wire. It does not do double duty along with the ground wire. That's why they are separate. If you need a good handy reference, get the book, "Wiring Simplified" by HP Richter, WC Schwan and FP Hartwell. It's about $12 and will be your best friend when doing this and you have more questions come up.
      Good luck and Cheers,
      Jim Don

Comment

Thanks for the quick reply!
        One more question that I should have included.