X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Breaker size

Ok I'm a carpenter not an electrician don't want to be an electrician, but me and the father in law where talking yesterday about my shop. The shop is on a 15 breaker that also has the office on it. Now I know enough to know they way the shop is tied in isn't right. What they did is tied in off an outlet in the office than dug a ditch an ran the wire to the shop. Now with only a 15 amp breaker running all this I can turn the shop lights on and run the table saw but nothing else. My father in law says I should but in a bigger breaker I think I cant dont I run the risk of a fire if I do this? The house only has 100 amp service coming in and the land loard wont pay for 200 amp even though the electric company has checked and found a problem with the wires coming in but will not change them out unless its to go to 200 amp. So Im kinda stuck.

Jim
    http://www.jcremodeling.net/

Re: Breaker size

Originally posted by jtravnick View Post
    Ok I'm a carpenter not an electrician don't want to be an electrician, but me and the father in law where talking yesterday about my shop. The shop is on a 15 breaker that also has the office on it. Now I know enough to know they way the shop is tied in isn't right. What they did is tied in off an outlet in the office than dug a ditch an ran the wire to the shop. Now with only a 15 amp breaker running all this I can turn the shop lights on and run the table saw but nothing else. My father in law says I should but in a bigger breaker I think I cant dont I run the risk of a fire if I do this? The house only has 100 amp service coming in and the land loard wont pay for 200 amp even though the electric company has checked and found a problem with the wires coming in but will not change them out unless its to go to 200 amp. So Im kinda stuck.

Jim