X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Home electric meter

I am not an electrician but would appreciate some information or point me to where I can learn about the new digital electric meters that measure KW useage in the home. I am in Texas and just last month TXU installed a digital meter and my useage went up by 1500kw. My bill increased by 150.00 over the month before. THe house is the same and the thermostat was kept the same. I talked to my two neighbors and theirs did the same.
    My question is: Is there a meter of some kind that is accurate that I can get connected to the line that is not too expensive that will also measure the kw useage. I had the old style meter on before. I have never had this high a reading even in the summer with air cond. on. I have a 16 seer heat pump and I keep the house at 62 at night and 68 or 69 in the day time. I live in my home with a daughter who works all day. The stove and microwave are used once or twice a day and the washing is done only on sat. I do not understand the jump except that the digital meters are setup to read at certain hours and then project useage.
    Thanks for any help.
    James

Re: Home electric meter

The new digital meters not only monitor kilowatt hours but also measure demand. That's where they get you. When demand peaks the cost per kilowatt hour goes up and you pay more based on demand. You can install a submeter such as this:

http://www.powermeterstore.com/p4154/cent-a-meter.php