Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wedding Rings for Electricians???

Hello everybody,

this is my first time posting in this forum and i'm wondering what you guys think.
    i have been working electric for about 5 years now and i am getting married in 3 months. i really would like to wear a ring (never wore any jewelry before, but think this is important.) i asked my boss if he had any recommendations and he said just simply take it off before you work in a hot panel or before work each day. i could do that and my fiance would not mind, but i would really prefer to keep it on if i could.
    i was just at the jeweler's and we were looking at ceramic rings. this new hi-tech ceramic. very strong and scratch resistant, but its still ceramic so it is breakable. maybe a good thing that it breaks so it doesn't pinch your finger. as far as i know, ceramic is not conductive. that's what they use to insulate conductors with. they are not very expensive (about $100)

just wondering what you all think...

Re: Wedding Rings for Electricians???

get a gold chain and wear it around your neck! [EDIT>>> a very short chain and preferred not to wear it at all ...thanks BOB.D]
    Suppose you have to jerk away quickly? metal or ceramic ring you may/can/will jam your finger and do serious damage.

I have been married 26 years, plus one for the learner's permit!
    I wore the ring the day of the wedding and on the honeymoon...then it went into a secure place and I never wear anything on my hands/fingers...I even pull my watch over my elbow
    or remove it when working with electricity or for that matter power tools.

If you require a note to your soon to be bride concerning limb/finger safety..I'm confident many on this site will be happy to e-mail her a note!

Cactus Man
    Last edited by cactusman; 03-28-2009, 10:15 AM.

Comment

Sheafferhi,