X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• $6,500 paper weight

Hi newbie here to this site. I have a problem. I have bought a cnc jr milling machine. I built a shop for this machine. The machine runs on 120v at 15 amps. When I wired the shop I tied into the home with a 30 amp breaker to a 100 amp breaker box in the shop. The shop has only 125v pulling off the 100 amp service (no 220v). The main motor of the machine is wired to a 125v 20 amp circuit by itself. The problem I'm having is, When I turn the mill on, the motor runs for about two minutes. The O/L on the motor trips. I have turned everything off in the shop and it still happens. When I first set this mill up, I ran it for about 10 minutes with no problems. Now I have this one and can't use it. The machine is under a 1 year warrenty. But I want to make sure it's not on my end. Thanks for any help in advance..

Re: $6,500 paper weight

120 V/15 amps sounds like a small milling machine, but it that is the rating, and you have a 120/20 amp circuit, then it should run.

Comment

Yea it's just a bench top machine.That's what i thought, but it won't. The O/L on the motor keeps tripping. Don't have much hair left, probable won't have any left trying to figure this out.

Comment

Do you have a good digital multimeter or a good VOM type meter? If you do, check Voltage at the receptacle, or wiring box of the machine with the machine off and again with it running. If there's more than 5 Volts difference (120 Volts nominal) you need to bring heavier electric service to your shop. In addition if when you don't have much load in your shop the Voltage reading is outside of the 110 - 125 Volts range you may have problems back at your service entrance.