X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thoughts on drills.

I am a commercial electrician and just under a week ago my hammer drill from my 5 piece ridgid set walked off site (Who ever took it left the charger and both batteries).
    Regardless, I do need to replace the drill I just don't need a hammer drill. I was thinking of getting the auto-shift or the compact that way I will have 4 batteries 2 larger and 2 smaller. Anyway just wondering if any other sparkies had any thoughts/recomendations. I know the hammer drill has a full metal chuck but the lighter drills don't and wondering how those have held up in real world situations.

Re: Thoughts on drills.

I don't care for the autoshift drill. I want to control the speed and torque of the drill, not leave it up to some parameter in the drills' programming. I personally prefer a drill with a metal chuck since it seems to tighten the drill bits better. My tools are mostly Millwaukee or DeWalt so I don't know if Ridgid offers a metal chuck in a non-hammer drill like DeWalt does. I agree with you about the hammer drill. Rarely do I drill a hole less than a 1/4", about what I consider the limit for a battery operated drill. A corded Hilti has never let me down.

Comment

Did you recently move from Utah? We had another member with a similar handle who has not been heard from in a while.

BOT: Can't offer anything constructive on the Autoshift drill, never used one, but I do prefer the all metal chucks in most cases.
      ---------------
      Light is faster than sound. That's why some people seem really bright until you hear them speak.
      ---------------
      “If I had my life to live over again, I'd be a plumber.” - Albert Einstein
      ---------
      "Its a table saw.... Do you know where your fingers are?"
      ---------
      sigpic http://www.helmetstohardhats.com/

Comment