Loss of power to several breakers.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Loss of power to several breakers.

A good friend called me with a trouble shooting problem in his home. I am not a electrician but have done a lot of wiring.

A little history on the home. Home is a 1920's Bungalow that originally had knob and tube. About 8 years ago home was completely rewired with Rolmex with all knob and tube removed. 3 years ago a new 200 amp service panel was installed.

Symptoms:

Friend called and said that his garage, dryer, furnace (gas) basement lights and range did not work. At first I thought maybe some wire nuts had come loose but with this many breakers being affected I think not. I had him check to see if all the affected breakers were all on one side of the panel and they are not. The only thing I can think of is either a loose neutral or ground lug. Your ideas would be appreciated.

Thanks
    Charles
    Charles

Re: Loss of power to several breakers.

Is there by any chance theres a sub panel somewhere else.

Comment

possiable lost neutral. If you have the skill and know how. Check the whole panel with a meter. This will give you more info. Also look for pitted busses. Doesn't seem likely but since you have the panel open go a head and check. I would also check all of the effective devices for voltage readings.
      Good luck and post backwith the results

Comment

I would check the breakers under the meter...sounds to me like he has lost one leg.

Comment

Thanks everyone. Keep the ideas coming.

There are no sub panels any longer since the rewire.

He did tell me that his range heats up real slow and not very hot. Also for some reason when the range is turned on now the light he has on the counter goes on and is real weak.

I told him to turn off the main and then tighten all the screws. If I have time I told him I would bring my meter over and check the voltage on each leg.