Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse

How To Post Images

Want to know the how to upload images to your posts? Image Posting Tutorial
See more
See less

Light and ceiling fan: why would all wires be hot when the wall light switch off

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Light and ceiling fan: why would all wires be hot when the wall light switch off

Hi. New to this forum and I have very little knowledge about electricity, as I'm sure I will prove. I moved into an old farmhouse. There exists 2 wire cable (black & white in flexible metal conduit) throughout the house. There was an existing flourescent light fixture that we decided to remove and replace with a ceiling fan. I turned the wall light switch off (only 1 light switch controls the light I believe) and was surprised that my GT-11 Voltage detector was still strongly detecting current in the wires and ballast(?). Thinking nothing of it, I switched the breaker off, removed the existing light and installed my ceiling fan. This ceiling fan has an up light, a down light, a fan motor and a remote to control the three of these. When I turn the wall light switch on, the up light works fine as does the fan. However, I can't get the downlight to work.

So, this sent me exploring and I found the following that is puzzeling me:

WALL LIGHT SWITCH in ON position:
    the main black wire (supply wire to fan) is hot and the white is not (which I think is correct). I do not get a voltage reading on the blue wire (marked "to downlight) and I am also not getting a voltage detection on the black or white wires directly at the down light bulb socket (both lead me to think the internal wiring of the fan is the problem). However,...

WALL LIGHT SWITCH in OFF position: