• 14/3 wire

Can you run 14/3 romex for HR and not use the red wire

Re: 14/3 wire

Originally posted by gotflow View Post
    Can you run 14/3 romex for HR and not use the red wire
    Anybody know

Comment

My guess would be NO, as it would leave some doubt to future electricians as to what was going on with the "red". But I don't have a current NEC manual, so I really don't know (besides, I'm not a licensed electrician).

I'd ask a local "Master" or check with your local code administrator.

CWS

Comment

Just my gut feeling is yes, but again I do not know what the code says,

I would think one could just roll up the extra in the back of the box, and the same in the breaker box, if it was properly marked I do not know why having a spare wire would matter,
        (on large Irrigation sprinklers they run a "snake of wires" from the end to the center, of it to run controls and to power the drive motors and many times they do not use all the wires in the cable, (like said I am not sure if it meets the code), I have also seen items abandoned and the wires just caped off.

On another job I had a licensed electrician come in and do the wiring, and the building had been remodeled a good number of times in its history, and I suggested to pull out sum of the old unused wiring and he said it was not necessary, Then I proceeded to cut down a old conduit that needed to be removed for the new remodeling and blew my reciprocating saw blade up, as it was not Hooked up, according ot the electriciton,), Even after that he did not think it was necessary to pull out the old unused wiring.

the simplest is to call the inspector and see what he says.
        Push sticks/blocks Save Fingers
        ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
        "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good."
        attributed to Samuel Johnson
        ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~