X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Electric to my shed.

I'm planning on running a dedicated outlet to my shed, about 40 foot from the back of my house, for a deep freezer.
    My current thinking is to run 3/4" pvc from the house to the shed, and push 12g wire through. There are no inspections in the county I live in, so I want to make sure i'm not overlooking something silly. I did contact an electrician, but he wanted to just bury uv rated romex and the only conduit would be around the wire above ground to protect it from the weed whacker.

Suggestions?
    No, it's not rocket science, it's plumbing and unlike rocket science it requires a license.

Re: Electric to my shed.

If thats all you plan on running in the future?,and not too worried on code i don't see a problem,I'd use some sort of conduit to help protect against stone rub and go at least 10" or so.

Comment

I'm NOT an electrician, so hopefully one or two will jump in here. I'd go at least a foot down (I think the spec for here in NY is 14-inches, but it's been a long time since I've reviewed the code on that.) I would definitely use conduit and plastic is probably okay. But, I'd put some flat stone or gravel on top of that, as an indication to a future digger, that something may be buried there.

Not sure about the 12 ga, as that seems like a long run... ask about it where you make the purchase.

At the outlet side, you definitely need to use a GFI I believe. By shed, I presume this to be an unfinished building of sorts, so guarding against electrical shock is a definite must, IMO.

I hope this helps,

CWS

Comment

Thanks guys,
        The shed is unfinished, but thankfully is nice and dry, would a GFI breaker be better than a GFI outlet?

Backfilling with stone is the same way we do plumbing around here, so that makes perfect sense.
        No, it's not rocket science, it's plumbing and unlike rocket science it requires a license.

Comment