X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Almost Embarrassed...

I'm almost embarrassed to ask about this, but I'm sure I've asked dumber questions.

I was working on an existing CPVC line today. Every time I touched it, I got a little shock. I'm thinking I'm losing my mind or maybe muscle fatigue that feels a little like a shock the first couple of times.

The third time I felt it, (Like a dumb monkey, takes three times to maybe learn...) I got out my meter.

Now, I'm not very good at electrical troubleshooting as to where to touch what and to put my mind into where the ground or neutral is going if you know what I mean.

Anyway, I touch one of the probes to the CPVC pipe and the other just jammed into the ground. Got a reading as high as 9 volts.

Why would I be getting anything on CPVC?

Thanks for all input.

J.C.

Re: Almost Embarrassed...

was this on a well by chance?
    Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part!!
    You can fire me...but you can't tell me what to do!

Derek

Comment

Originally posted by dcman View Post
      was this on a well by chance?
      No, it was not on a well.

J.C.

Comment

I have only encountered that one time in the city and it was from cable tv wire ran thru attic and down behind the tub and was rubbing on the water pipes until it exposed the wires against the metal riser to the bath then just conducted thru the water to the grounding on the water system....
        Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part!!
        You can fire me...but you can't tell me what to do!

Derek

Comment