X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• polebarn wiring

Hello to all this is my first posting hopefully someone can help me I have been getting a lot of opinions on this job all have been very helpful, my biggest concern is the size of wire needed, first let me explain what I.m doing I want to run wiring to my polebarn which is about 125 ft. away from the houses meter
    I understand I need a 320 amp double lug meter base in which to hook the secondary line to, I have no room in the 200 amp panel for more distribution. I have had some #3 thnn copper for a long time for this job but having started this job and looking on the enternet this may be to small, I think all I would need is125 amp panel all I plan is some lighting and outlets and I want to put in a lift. I forgot to mention I have 11/2" conduit already buried. Any help would be appreciated. Ken

Re: polebarn wiring

I am not a electrician, but I can not comprehend why you would need a 320 amp meter base,

you could run it from the meter, that is the way my farm is set up (actually with a distribution pole), but if you have room in the panel one could just pop in a 50 to 100 amp breaker and run the pole barn as a sub panel it would take 4 wires two hots and neutral and a ground that way,

the wire size is dependent on the amount of power you want to have or use at the barn and the voltage drop,

unless your wanting a shop with stick arc welder and a 5hp compressor, your get by for lights and few things on a 40 or 60 amp breaker,

I think you need to figure out what you want to have now and future, and then decide the power needs and figure that direction,

(what is a Lift?)
    Push sticks/blocks Save Fingers
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good."
    attributed to Samuel Johnson
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~