Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse

How To Post Images

Want to know the how to upload images to your posts? Image Posting Tutorial
See more
See less

Can I remove thelectricompany's loop? Or is it, HANDS OFF?

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can I remove thelectricompany's loop? Or is it, HANDS OFF?

I am not an electrician. But I work withigh voltages.
    I am removing an abandoned, operating, Cold War Era airaid siren.

In exchange for giving the siren to me, I told the municipality that I would removeverything from the siren's utility pole.
    Last week thelectricompany removed their 240-Volt three-phase meter and yesterday I removed everything after it.

The loop to the weatherhead comes off mid span.
    Can I cuthe wireso shorthathey cannotouch anything?
    Are there termination caps which must be secured on thends of the wires?

While I have our bucketruck there to remove the 450 lb siren, I would be happy to save Xcel a trip and finish everything including removing the mast and meter box. (When I added a second floor to my house, I bought and installed the mast, weatherhead, meter box and 3 feet of conductor outhe weatherhead.)

Or musthelectricompany do this?

Thank you.
    Last edited by Robert Gift; 10-20-2011, 07:59 AM.
    I'd take an educated guess - but I'm unqualified.
    It ain't just soot, it's paydirt.
    "I swear, wherever Gift goes, argument follows." -Youtube comment

Re: Can I remove thelectricompany's loop? Or is it, HANDS OFF?

QUESTION Are You faster than ELECTRICITY ?
    I can build anything You want , if you draw a picture of it , on the back of a big enough check .

Comment

Originally posted by toolaholic View Post
      QUESTION Are You faster than ELECTRICITY ?
      No, but I'm good to 400 Volts!
      I would cut and insulate/terminate one phase at a time.

Comment