Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Adding 220v circuit to garage shop

Hey all,

I am going to add a 220v heater to the ceiling of my garage and will need to add a 220v circuit to my main panel (also located in the garage) to accommodate this.

I have basic electrical experience. I have installed new bathroom vent fans, new outlets, roughing in houses, etc. I have never installed a circuit directly into a main panel before though. I usually left that to an electrician to complete. This being said, my father has done it several times in his building career and said it is quite simple and can be safe if done properly. He advised he would walk me through the process.

The way I would like to install this is have a 220v outlet box mounted to the ceiling (visible), run a 220v line along the wall (directly where the ceiling/wall meet) until I get over to where the main panel is. Then I plan on running the line into the wall and into the panel. My thoughts are that this would prevent me from having to bore through the existing 2x4's and simplifying the install.

My questions:

What wire meets code to be mounted outside a wall? (I heard something about armor cable?)

Is there a 220v outlet box that can be mounted without having to be hidden in a wall/ceiling?

Should I do the entire process myself or have an electrician do the final connection after inspecting my work (which will all be visible in my noted configuration)?

Does anyone have anything to add?

Cheers,

Adam

Re: Adding 220v circuit to garage shop