Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Installing electric sub panel in a new detached garage.

Hello everyone, I'm new to the forum and I need some expert advice from you folks here. I have been lurking around on the forum for a few weeks now and have learned a few things about the task I am about to tackle.

I have built a new 20X24 garage 39 feet behind my home and I would like to run electric service to the garage from my 200amp service panel inside the house, The meter box faces the garage and the service panel is directly behind the meter box.

First, I am not an electrician but I do have some back ground in the electrical field and I am aware that this does not make me a professional by any means. Therefore when I complete my part of the electrical installation I will have a local electrician check everything I do, tie into the main service panel and handle all permits as the codes inspector we have here is a complete JERK and wish not to deal with him whatsoever.

I need some advice in a few areas and that's why I am here and hopefully you guys can get me going.

I will start off by listing the number of outlets, lights and equipment that will be used in my garage.

I have mounted a 125amp 12 slot sub panel in the garage and have completed most of the electrical installation. Below is a list of what I have.

1. 17 outlets
    2. 8 ceiling lights
    3. 2 work bench lights
    4. 3 outside security lights and 1 light on photocell under attached car port
    5. 2 switched lights under car port and 1 entry door light as requested by the codes inspector
    6. 220V compressor @ 17amps on 20 amp breaker
    7. 220V ac/heat window unit with auto feature @ 23amps on 30amp breaker

I have 12/2 with ground for all 110V outlets/lights
    I have 10/2 with ground for all 220V outlets

Sub panel layout. Note that I am installing 20amp breakers

Left row of breakers are: