Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Running 6 Amp wire

Hello,
    Background: I have built a shed in my back yard and have been given three strands of 6 Amp wire, white, black and green. Each wire is 60 feet long; problem is, I need 70 feet.

Question: Can wire this heavy somehow be spliced (pigtailed) together? In other words, can I somehow safely add an additional 10 feet of wire and make the connection inside a box? Or, must I now buy 210 feet of new wire? If I can, what do I need to buy, beside the additional 30 feet of wire and how is the connection made?

Thank you for your assistance.

Dock

Re: Running 6 Amp wire

dock, welcome to the forum.

based on your terminology / understanding of electrical i would suggest to hire a pro. granted i'm not a licensed electrician. but honestly you either have a 6 amp load for your shed, or you have 6 gauge wire which is pretty heavy wire. your colors as is are color coded for 120 volts, unless you properly mark them for 240 volts and then you're missing a neutral wire or another hot leg.

i would think an approved underground splice/ pull box and water tight connectors would be expensive. but an above ground splice/ pull box is relatively cheap.

don't want to see the dock needing a doc on their first post

rick.
    phoebe it is

Comment

Thanks Rick

Sorry for the mix-up with electrical terminology.

I’ll try this again. I have three strands of 6 gauge wire, green, white and black, each is 60 feet long. Wire was given to me; problem is, I need 70 feet to reach from circuit breaker panel box in the garage to a new 60 amp sub panel circuit breaker box in a newly built shed. I was told this is the correct size wire gauge for this length of run. Twenty-five feet of this will run underground through a 1” conduit, 18” below ground level, according to code in my area.

It will be used only as 120 volt circuits for 4 outlets, a ceiling light and an exhaust fan.