Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
about to purchase a 20kw generator, it has 2 100amp transfer switches?? Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• about to purchase a 20kw generator, it has 2 100amp transfer switches??

The genset is a Generac 20KW NG, residential, water-cooled, 4 cyl Mitsubishi. The seller is a contractor who removed the generator and the switch gear from a house he demolished.
    He says the house had 200amp service (as do I) he sent me pics of the genset and the transfer switches. Both TF switches are 100amp Generac model 71340. I was expecting a single 200amp switch.
    I'm having a hard time understanding how these 2 switches could have been wired in.
    I'm a mechanical engineer, I have a buddy who is an EE and a licensed electrician, but he's jammed up with storm damage stuff (he works for our local utility here in NJ).
    I need to make a decision on this unit since the owner has other interested people.
    Can anyone here shed some light on this for me?

Thanks

PS this was my first post on this forum, sorry it was so long

Re: about to purchase a 20kw generator, it has 2 100amp transfer switches??

unless you split up the loads into two 100 amp boxes, I do not see how it would work (code wise) either,

I found a manual 250 amp transfer switch off of Ebay a number of years ago, for my place,

I do have a second transfer switch in the generator shed, to choose between a 30kw generator or a old small unit, that is plugged in to a receptacle, so if really needed I could park the welding truck and plug the welder (it also generators AC) in to the receptacle if needed as well and switch it on the second transfer switch,

but for a whole house the transfer switch needs to amp rateing, the same as the power coming into the building so if you have a 200 amp breaker box, you would need a 200 amp transfer switch.