outlet question.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• outlet question.

The other day....my MIL was using one of them europro heaters. After a while,she said the cord for the heater was getting hot,along with the outlet and the wall around the outlet. She also had a xmas tree plugged into it. Now to me that seems to many things plugged into it but is there a remedy for that? Could she have the outlet replaved to maybe something that could support that kind of load? or maybe a bigger circuit breaker?

Re: outlet question.

I'm not an electrician.

But, having the wall outlet warm, or especially hot is a sure sign of trouble. First thing I would check is requirements of the heater. There should be a label on it somewhere telling you the "Watts" and/or the amps required. Typically a wall outlet allows up to 15 amps. Likewise what kind of bulbs are being used in the Christmas tree lighting. If these are the bigger incandescent bulbs you are most likely overloading the outlet. The light cord should also have a amperage rating. The heat is generated because the cord is trying to draw more amperage than is available and therefore the resistance (in amperes) is causing the heat.

You should also check the circuit breaker rating for this particular circuit.

IF YOU IGNORE THIS, YOU COULD VERY WELL BE IN A FIRE HAZARD SITUATION!

The problem is only easy to fix if you can move the heater or the lights to another circuit, rated well in excess of what the amperage requirements of the plug-in. I would think that your quickest fix is to simply move the heater to another circuit, suitable to whatever amperage rating is for the heater (I have a new 1500-watt heater... it requires 12.5 amps.) But, DO NOT use any extension cord, as it may well add to the problem... extension cords also have an amperage rating, but you must keep them as short as possible. Electric heaters are generally "Cautioned" against any kind of extension cord usage.