X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Live in new york ???

If You replace an existing bath receptacle, You don't have to upgrade to a GFCI ! I couldn't sleep at night doing that !
    I can build anything You want , if you draw a picture of it , on the back of a big enough check .

Re: Live in new york ???

Really? (I'm not questioning you, as I'm not an electrician... but I'm surprised by that.)

I've always been under the impression that any receptacle in the bathroom HAD to be a GFCI. Likewise, anything within two or three ft (I don't remember exactly without grabbing a book) of the kitchen sink (or any sink) had to be GFCI, as well as any receptacle on an unfinished floor, as in a basement or garage area. I even use GFCI breakers for the outdoor receptacles (not sure what the code there requires, as I'm NOT an electrician).

Basic thought I've always had was that if it were possible to "ground" ones self, you need a GFCI. And, I thought that NY and all of it's communities followed the NEC, but might have "additional" codes.

CWS
    Last edited by CWSmith; 03-09-2013, 12:20 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by CWSmith View Post
      Really? (I'm not questioning you, as I'm not an electrician... but I'm surprised by that.)

I've always been under the impression that any receptacle in the bathroom HAD to be a GFCI. Likewise, anything within two or three ft (I don't remember exactly without grabbing a book) of the kitchen sink (or any sink) had to be GFCI, as well as any receptacle on an unfinished floor, as in a basement or garage area. I even use GFCI breakers for the outdoor receptacles (not sure what the code there requires, as I'm NOT an electrician).

Basic thought I've always had was that if it were possible to "ground" ones self, you need a GFCI. And, I thought that NY and all of it's communities followed the NEC, but might have "additional" codes.

CWS