Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

3.2KW Port Gen . Can alternator be wired to use to starter for 208 cc enginge ?

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3.2KW Port Gen . Can alternator be wired to use to starter for 208 cc enginge ?

Hello all : Great forum, I have received good advice here previously!

I have a small 3.2 Kw Powermate Gen with pull (recoil starter)I read some(long b-4 internet) that with addition of some small low cost components relays , voltage isolator and switch etc; it's possible ?.

I have very little knowledge of a lot of things including electricity, and would like to make gen start-able for an elderly person in emergency. I don't think it is practical to add (cost wise some of elec/start kits that I see on web.

Any help/advise would be appreciated.
    Thanks

Re: 3.2KW Port Gen . Can alternator be wired to use to starter for 208 cc enginge ?

no you could not use a car alternator for a starter.

possibly a car generator, from the pre 65 era, and later in the post, a little more info,

if there is a factory kit it would most likely mean taking off the fly wheel and replacing it and the engine shied possibly, here is s some possibilities How to Add an Electric Starter

first there is no place for a pulley or an area for the starter to connect to,easily, on some one my be able to use the fly wheel is there is a smooth place all the way around the fly wheel, but this would mean taking off the engine shroud and a cooling problem, ( at one time they made belt starters and the starters would work as a generator to charge the battery,
    the old john deere 110 lawn tractor had a combination starter generator belt drive unit on it. the unit was simular to these http://alternatorparts.com/small_sta...generators.htm