Basic Question about amps

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Basic Question about amps

I am not an electrician...but you will know that as soon as you read my question!

I have a Philips Respironics portable oxygen concentrator that my wife uses most nights when we travel. It simply plugs into the wall outlet and works fine. It does not have a battery pack. We are planning a trip soon by car and it would be nice to be able to use the oxygen concentrator in the car on occasion if necessary.

On the bottom of the concentrator it says "13 - 19V - 7.9A max". The machine comes with the appropriate power supply that I can plug into the wall and then into the machine. If I want to use the concentrator in the car with the car's 12V battery, I need a plug-in to the lighter into which I can plug the concentrator's power supply (which has a regular two progged plug). Most of the power converters I have seen that will plug into the lighter produce less than the 7.9 amps required. If I use a converter that provides fewer amps then 7.9, for example only 4 amps, will I damage the $1800 oxygen concentrator? Or will the concentrator work less efficiently or ?

Thanks for your help!

You will burn out the adapter-converter and possibly damage the machine. You need to know the draw of the power box, rather than what the machine requires, and the power type (ac or DC) before you buy a converter.
    ~~

... it was plumbed by Ray Charles and his helper Stevie Wonder

Comment

The power supply is rated as 100 - 240V, 50/60Hz, 2.0A Max from the wall socket and (19V, 7.9A going into the concentrator.) There is an eight pin plug going into the concentrator.

Comment