Linesman pliers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Linesman pliers

There are a myriad of lineman pliers and a wide variation of prices out there.
    I'd really prefer to update with a "made in USA" model....

I currently have a plain Jane style. All it offers is a wire cutter/stripper
    I see new models offer fish tape pullers, crimping, better grips, various weights and lengths etc.etc.

So what do you professional electricians use and prefer?

I noticed an interesting unit from Klein tools kln-j215-8cr [$37.00].....but yikes it's expensive and even with
    some poor reviews looks interesting....any users?

Also some linesman pliers offer the ability to use it as a hammer.....of sorts....many do not have that ability.

Cactus Man
    Last edited by cactusman; 08-27-2018, 01:01 PM.

maybe your not interested in my view since I am not an electrician, only play one on tv,

I have a pair in the work truck that I use for fencing, from time to time, I have hardly ever used them in the electrical aspect,

I really do not find them the better in cutting wire, electrical or steel fence (electric or non electric fence), and the plyer aspect of them there are better ones out there for use as gripping or pulling things,
    it is like most tools some have favorites of the type of tools they use,
    I have a pair of channel locks (brand), I see retail about $60. and have a few other brands but on a five star rating for the type of player, I would only rank them about a 2 star, for the type, the channel lock brand for quality I rank at a 4 or 5, but but as for the use of the plyers I use them little for cutting (think there are better ways and easier ways to cut wire),
    and better ways to grip wire or other,

Push sticks/blocks Save Fingers
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good."
    attributed to Samuel Johnson
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~