Replacing Breaker

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Replacing Breaker

I need some help if possible I need to replace breaker in my camper. The part that has me confused is the breaker that it blown is connect to another one. Will try to explain they are all 20 amps an the two outside ones are conected to each other with two inbetween them that are independant. Need to know what kind of breaker this is so can buy another.

Some info on the panel will be helpful. Look on the inside or the outside of the cover. There should be a manufacturer name and a model number. From they you can find compatible breakers. Post some photos that show this information and maybe we can help. I am guessing that it is a Square D panel by the little bit of a part number I can see. But it might also be a GE panel and breakers.

I am not an electrician but I saw one yesterday so I'm qualified to answer this. Not really but I have twisted a couple wires together in my day.

I'm looking at the wire size on those two outboard breakers and because the handles are tied together I'm thinking that is your main breaker. One breaker feeds each bus bar in the panel with 120V. So you could run up to 20A on each leg and not trip the main breaker. The two 20A breakers inboard each give you a 120V AC circuit independent of each other, one on each leg or phase. The third breaker below shares one of the phases with one of the two single breakers above, probably the one on the left in the photo. So even though it is a 20A breaker and the other breaker on that phase is also 20A combined they can not support a load of more than 20A or they could trip the main breaker.
    Last edited by Bob D.; 01-28-2020, 12:59 PM.
    "It's a table saw, do you know where your fingers are?" Bob D. 2006
    "?ǝɹɐ sɹǝƃuıɟ ɹnoʎ ǝɹǝɥʍ ʍouʞ noʎ op `ʍɐs ǝlqɐʇ ɐ s,ʇı"

https://www.youtube.com/user/PowerToolInstitute

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC1p...qcZKHyrqKhikFA

----

Comment