X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any Electricians in Here?

Sound off if you are an Electrician. I don't quite count although I did rewire my entire house (My Electrician uncle started me out) so I have some experience. Learned a lot about Knob and Tube... basically it just doesnt make much sense. My entire house was esentially on 2 circuits.

You also end up really knowing every inch of your house after doing a complete rewire. Found lots of bad romex tie ins to the knob and tube and a few big fire hazards. Its all cool now and thank God I'm done.

BTW.. I used RIDGID Wire strippers for the job and they worked great ;-)

Josh

Josh,

Thanks for opening this forum. There are countless times where i have wanted to ask an electrical question. I think polar Sparky is a professional electrician.
    Work hard, Play hard, Sleep easy.

Comment

I am an apprentice working for 2 years so far..., and I'd like to see those Ridgid strippers.

I have a relative that has knob and tube wiring in their house and the code book still mentions it (Every 3 years the Nec code book is updated). When i have some spare time i'd love to help him upgrade his home.

I helped my dad remodel the entire house. The only thing that isn't new is the wall between the storage room and master bedroom, and the foundation. Essentially i grew up on the show home improvement. My dad never went to the hospital, but there were plenty of bleeding hands and flying boards that I thought my dad did learn from the TV series. I'm suprised i survied all my dads little projects....
      Last edited by Polar Sparky 1224; 01-27-2006, 09:54 PM.
      "Diplomacy is saying nice dodging until you can find a rock." Will Rogers
      "If a Monkey can do your job, are you in the right profession?

Comment

do you connect the black wire to the black or white wire ha ha
        i do hvac work and this has a lot of electric so this can be a big help
        thanks josh