X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Amperage Questions

Gentlemen, and forum moderators thanks for a new electrician forum. I'm a plumber by trade and i am in the process of replacing my kitchen. I'm working on the electrical right now. I have a few questions about some amperage ratings and such.
    Can anyone give me the average amperage ratings for the following appliances:
    Dishwasher
    Disposer
    Refrigerator
    Range Hood
    Microwave

Before i complete hooking up all the electrical i would like to know if the way i have it hooked up throws up any big no-no's. Under the kitchen sink i have installed a GFCI outlet, I plan on putting a plug on the end of the dishwasher and simply plugging it in. This will simplify repairs in the future. The outlet also gives future owners the ability to easily add a disposer (which i would never own one being a plumber). This is a 20amp 12-2 circuit that i intend to run into a junction box. I would like to put the range hood in the junction box also and then make a home run to the service panel to a dedicated 20amp breaker. So my questions would be: Is 20-amp sufficient for a dishwasher, disposer, and rangehood? Is there anything wrong with hooking the dishwasher up to an outlet?

I am no electrical expert myself, but I can tell you how I did my kitchen a couple years ago with help from an electrician friend. Having your dishwasher plugged into an outlet under the sink is pretty standard and nothing wrong with that. Normally that outlet will also share with the garbage disposal and a 20-amp should be plenty and my kitchen lighting also shares that same circuit (only 2 flourescent lights). Having the range hood on there should also not be a problem and is the way I have mine. The stove should be on a dedicated circuit and the stove part will need the 220V while the cooktop will most likely be 110V, unless you have gas.

WWS