GFCI Circuit Breaker vs Receptacles

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GFCI Circuit Breaker vs Receptacles

I am not an electrician. I am putting in a couple of 20amp circuits in my new basement woodworking shop. There is easy access to a subpanel I had installed for the shop. The basement is currently unfinished. I will have drywall in the shop area on the walls and leave the ceiling unfinished.

What are the pros and cons of installing GFCI circuit breakers instead of the GFCI receptacles? My plan is to put in two circuits for power tools with receptacles about 6 feet apart alternating circuits with each receptacle. Plans are to use a different color receptacle for each circuit.
    Start off slow then taper off.

the circuit breakers are in the $30- 50 range for a 20 amp. also depending on what brand of sub panel you have, the breakers might be hard to find.

the outlets are as cheap as $5. but a 20 amp might cost you $15. they should all have a 20 amp feed through and a 20 amp unit will have the 1 combination horizontal/ vertical blade that will allow for 20 amp tools to be plugged in.

not a bad idea to be protected by a gfi/ but is it required in a basement?

rick.
    phoebe it is

Comment

Gfci's are still required in unfinished basements but if the outlets serve a special purpose or are just nuisance tripping then you shouldn't bother. I'd give it a try with gfci outlets feeding through to you other outlets. A gfci will trip at .5 Milli amps and is meant to protect you from faulty tools or appliances.

Having a gfci breaker costs more and you have to go back to the panel each time you need to reset it. Most sparkys i know save money buy using the GFCI outlets.
      "Diplomacy is saying nice dodging until you can find a rock." Will Rogers
      "If a Monkey can do your job, are you in the right profession?

Comment

Sparky,