Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please help a beginner

I'm a beginner at this trade, but would like anyone to give me any tips on
    CAT 6 wiring, new tools, residental wiring to industrial wiring. I would also like to have help in any thing else on the subject of any type electrical power installation in any category. Thank you

What work are you going to do right now, or are you wondering which area is better?

I haven't done industrial work but a combination of residential and commercial is fun. (at least to me.) As for low voltage stuff i don't do much of that aside from phone and TV jacks. If you are going to school at the same time and are in the union program then you have 5 years and the 5Th year they teach you low voltage wiring.

For tools, all your hand tools should really be Klein or Crescent. I have bought other cheaper brands and it just didn't cut it.

some people say to have your basic hand tools, which is a few screwdrivers and nut drivers of different sizes, a hammer (smooth faced not milled) Lineman's, needle nose, & diagonal cut pliers. Wire strippers that will handle 16 to 10 AWG and not the kind that comes with an assortment of crimps. Plug/gfci tester, a voltage tester and the sense to use them. Some "chanellocks", and a good level. a tape measure ( I prefer the Stanley "fat max") And a comfortable tool belt. Your employer should provide you with pencils and sharpies.

If you are only doing residential you'll need your basic hand tools, a cordless drill (I don't use anything less than 12v but I am also looking at the 9.6v Ridgid.) or even better a 4pc power tool set, a flashlight and some band aids