Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem with 3-way switches

Hello All,

I'm new to this forum, and have a question. I have no formal electrical knowledge/training, but am simply trying to understand a problem I have at my house. I have a back stairwell that appears to be wired with two three way switches, one at the bottom of the stairwell and the other at the top inside wall of the room above. If the downstairs switch is turned "on", the upstairs switch will control the light fixture. If the downstairs switch is "off", the upstairs switch will not control the fixure. I'm stumped. How would I know or tell if the wiring is done incorrectly? I replaced each switch, putting the wires back into the corresponding attachment points. There are three wires attached to each switch. Any advice would be appreciated. The house was built in 1979. Thank you in advance.

Spakman

Does the downstairs switch work properly with the upstairs switch in the 'on' and 'off' positions? Can you turn the light on and off from downstairs with the upstairs switch in either position

Comment

Originally posted by Spakman
      Hello All,

I'm new to this forum, and have a question. I have no formal electrical knowledge/training, but am simply trying to understand a problem I have at my house. I have a back stairwell that appears to be wired with two three way switches, one at the bottom of the stairwell and the other at the top inside wall of the room above. If the downstairs switch is turned "on", the upstairs switch will control the light fixture. If the downstairs switch is "off", the upstairs switch will not control the fixure. I'm stumped. How would I know or tell if the wiring is done incorrectly? I replaced each switch, putting the wires back into the corresponding attachment points. There are three wires attached to each switch. Any advice would be appreciated. The house was built in 1979. Thank you in advance.

Spakman