X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• installing new furnace

I want to install a new, high efficiency furnace in our old house, 100 year old victorian. How do I figure out how many BTU it should be? Currently the air doesn't blow much on the second floor, is there different fan ratings I should look for? I plan on installing it myself as am cheap and am also very mechanically inclined. Work as a general contractor and we do it all. I have some experience with ductwork so that aspect is no big deal. Very good with wiring so that aspect isn't and issue and have experience with gas lines. I guess the only real question would be running the PVC piping for the intake and exhaust, and any tips to remember that I may over look. We live in upstate new york and so it gets pretty cold and need a quality furnace to keep us warm. Any brand that is better than others and any that I should definetly not buy. Thank you in advance to any assistance given.

Re: installing new furnace

A heat load calculation will tell you the required BTU's. Typically a 2-story house will and should have a unit for each floor. This is the best way to do this. I always say shop installer, not brand but since you're the installer go with trane. Stay away from goodman and janitrol. The variable speed fans are great but tend to coverup shoddy duct calculation and construction. 3 speed should do you just fine. As far as any tips to help you with-to broad of a question and I don't know your skill level. Best of luck.
    Buy cheap, buy twice.

Comment

Go with Gears recommendation and buy a Trane if you can afford it. Variable speed fans are nice but can be pricey when it comes time for a replacement.

This is a good time to have your ducts cleaned and checked for leaks.

Originally posted by ldk View Post
      I guess the only real question would be running the PVC piping for the intake and exhaust, and any tips to remember that I may over look.